Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission

Monday, February 25, 2019

Minutes

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Rep. Dale Lueck, Chair Sen. Jerry Newton, Vice Chair Sen. Greg Clausen Sen. Justin Eichorn Sen. John Hoffman Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein Sen. Eric Pratt Sen. Carrie Ruud Rep. Julie Sandstede

EXCUSED:

Rep. Shelly Christensen Rep. Tim O'Driscoll Rep. Chris Swedzinski

Representative Lueck called the Legislative Permanent School Trust Fund meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Senator Eichorn moved approval of the December 13, 2018 Minutes

Motion prevailed.

Election of Chair and Vice-Chair: Representative Lueck nominated Senator Jerry Newton for chair. Senator Ruud nominated Senator Justin Eichorn for chair. Roll call vote was held. Senator Jerry Newton received 5 votes (majority) while Senator Eichorn received 2 votes. Representative Lueck was nominated for vice chair. Senator Newton is the new chair and Representative Lueck is the vicechair.

The gavel was passed to Senator Newton.

DNR Commissioner Sarah Strommen introduced ONE MINNESOTA vision and Trust Land management.

Aaron VandeLinde, Director, Permanent School Trust presented a BWCAW update.

The following legislation was reviewed:

- a. Compensation (HF 152/SF 617)
- b. Horseshoe Bay (HF 126/SF 138)
- c. Extension of Office of State Trust Lands Budgets
 - i. 2016 session law, real estate development (Chp. 189, Art. 3, Sec 6)

ii.2017 session law, BWCAW funds (Chp. 93, Art. 1, Sec. 9(b))

School Trust Lands discussion continued with Bob Meier, Assistant Director, DNR and Trina Zieman, Land Asset & School Trust Administrator:

- a. Wild Rice Lease exchange legislation
- b. Sales legislation
- c. Encroachments and costs (boundary line agreement proposal)

Senator Utke testified regarding wild rice leases.

Adjourn 10:00 a.m.